Nataraja, Dancing Shiva, 15cm

Not available
SKU: 1001898

Regular price €32.00 | savings € -32.00 (Liquid error (sections/product-template line 234): divided by 0% discount)

with VAT


A very symbolic and much telling sculpture.
Each of its elements has a deep meaning. These are the most important elements:
 1. Chennai Srishti: The first vibrations. Srishti or creation: Nataraja's rear left arm carries an hourglass-shaped drum, a damur whose vibrations create the universe. Some confuse it with the Big Bang of cosmic creation.
2. Samhara: Light up in essence. Samhara or Destruction: A raised, rear right arm carries the atrophied fire in a shapeless position for regeneration only. In this sense, it is a fire of transformation, not destruction. It means constant change, echoing the Buddhist decree "There is no being, there is only becoming." 
3. Sthithi or maintenance / protection: The open hand in the front hand indicates confidence: for constant cosmic overhaul. There is nothing to fear; the changes are normal and I'm here to protect you.
4. Tirobhava or concealment: The hidden lower left hand facing down says that he is the creator of the veil of Maya, illusions or ignorance.
5. Anugraha, or Blessing or Liberation: The raised left foot, together with the closed hand, signifies the opportunity available to the seeker: moksa, or liberation from ignorance and, indirectly, from the cycle of birth and death.
6. Apasmara: Defeat your inner demons. The dwarf demon at Nataraja's feet represents the evils of ignorance and ego that can be sprung up if one is to rise to a higher level of self-realization.
7. Circle of Fire: The frame around Nataraja is May, an illusion experienced by the cyclical phenomenon of birth and death.

Height: 15cm
Material: Brass.

Country of origin: India
Nataraja, Dancing Shiva, 15cm

Nataraja, Dancing Shiva, 15cm

Recently viewed products